Thought for the day.

WARNING: Profanity. Not because I particularly like using the F-word(except when I’m angry, then I love it) but it’s part of the point of this strange thought. 

I have always shunned the social media scene. But now, I’m delving into it to shamelessly promote my book, but also to gain insight on the mindset of my generation. (If you can’t tell, I don’t interact with many people my age anymore. Having kids will do that.) Now that I’m more uh, involved, I can say I do not like what I’m seeing. 

In our culture in this day and age, we are taught, in simplest terms that “not giving a fuck” is a type of standard that our youth has to live up to. I touch upon this subject in my book, but I didn’t see the true effect of this attitude until now. Young guys hooking up with girls without protection, yet calling them whores and seeing them only as objects. Girls having babies and then a week later drinking in the club, leaving their infant with their mothers. And also, the music of today with lyrics nothing more profound than getting drunk and hooking up. 

All of this behavior, plus the influence to not give a fuck and only care about yourself, is emptying this generation of passion. Forget being considerate and empathetic to others. That is only learned the hard way, through time. but from an early age, the passion is beaten out of a child until they “don’t give a fuck” about anything other than today, and how THEY feel at that very moment. 

I can relate to this since I spent quite a bit of my adolescence carrying this mindset and displaying it proudly on my chest like a badge, but it all went out the window when I had my kids. Sometimes that happens, to the fortunate cases that grow up in 9 months and take responsibility for the next 18+ years. But more often than not(as displayed by the media), the parent is still the same party animal, except now with a birth story and a babysitter. 

So what do we do? Who do we blame? I’ve heard the whole “technology is making the human race dumber/less evolved” and while I can agree to a point, we can’t place all of the blame on technology. It’s our mindset that nothing is shameful that has to change. Not only for our kids’ sake, but for art’s sake. Cultivate emotions, and bring back the real shit. 

One thought on “Thought for the day.

Leave a Reply

