If you were an angry 90’s kid, you may relate.

So I would like to take a second to talk about Eminem and his new album. But let’s backtrack for a moment. Eminem is a white rapper from Detroit who broke down race barriers with his brilliant rhymes and blah blah blah….if you clicked on this, you probably already know his deal. Anyway, his first album that went mainstream was this:

And Eminem, who was more or less 27 at the time, looked like this:

I probably should have warned you about the middle finger….but hey, this post is about Eminem.

So when he was rising to fame, naturally, looking like that, he attracted a slew of lovesick teenagers and young girls, myself included. And an equally large group of boys of all races looking up to him. But for me, it wasn’t just his looks and the fact that he made people laugh and think at the same time. The catchy rhymes and silly wordplay in The Real Slim Shady(which was actually the first song I’d ever heard from him even though the equally popular My Name Is was released prior to that) caught my attention, but what stood out more to me was his anger and sarcasm. Before I knew what he looked like, I knew I wanted to hear more.

So I begged, cried, pleaded with, and harassed my mom to buy The Marshall Mathers LP. I listened to every song, got the gist of the source of his anger, and wholeheartedly and profoundly related to it. Before Eminem, the popular music consisted of Britney Spears(which I adored and still do), The Backstreet Boys(ehh…) and N*SYNC(huge fan, still a big fan of Justin). The songs they came out with all had the same general idea: Oh baby, I love you, please don’t play me, I’m so in love with you….. Okay, I was 10 years old. I thought boys were gross. They were manhunt teammates and that’s the extent of their use for me. But then Eminem came in with his anger towards his father leaving, his mother’s lack of mothering, being poor, being bullied, living in subpar standards. At the risk of sounding cliche, it was like he took my situation and the overwhelming feelings that went with it and made clever songs from it. Needless to say, it was a voice I needed that year.

Fast forward to 2013: I’m over the past, the issues are more or less resolved now that I’m an adult, but I’m still a huge fan of Eminem. Granted, not all of his albums were great(ahem, Encore) and I felt as though Relapse, although a great album in general, showed a little too much of his soft side. I don’t need his soft side, I’ve got my own.

So the album he just released is this:

And Oh em Gee is it phenomenal. Slim Shady is back, but a little older and wiser. So far my favorite track is Groundhog Day, with Monster coming in second. So I am a happy girl. I feel like I am 13 years old again, minus the angst and dream of marriage(ugh).

I would love to hear other people’s input, because I feel like the 20-somethings of my hometown and I are the only ones who are still fans. That can’t be true, can it?

2 thoughts on “If you were an angry 90’s kid, you may relate.

  1. Your story is remarkably similar to mine. I was a huge fan when he debuted, but after a few years I stopped listening to the radio and his catchy rhymes were no longer the tunes I hummed while folding laundry. It was about a year ago that I randomly turned the radio to a local “teen” station and I heard his collaboration with Rihanna. Once again, I found myself seeking new music from an old favorite.
    Great post!

Leave a Reply

