Author Spotlight: Veronica Bane

Mara

Bio: Veronica Bane grew up in San Diego, California and spent her days writing in local coffee shops and at the beach. Her writing was and has always been fed a healthy diet of chai tea lattes and film scores. Veronica studied Creative Writing at Chapman University and now lives in Los Angeles. Her book Mara was released August 2013 from Black Hill Press and is now available for purchase at Amazon.com.

What all have you written? Include everything:
Mara is my debut book and was published in August 2013. I am currently editing the sequel.

Where can we buy or see them?:
Mara is available for Kindle and in book form on Amazon.

Tell us a little bit about your main character:
Mara is brash, angry, and troubled. She can manipulate flames and uses those flames to punish those who have done her wrong. I loved writing Mara because she is so raw and authentic, and she makes plenty of bad decisions. That’s fun to write.

What are you working on at the minute?:
I am currently working on the sequel to my first book.

What is it about?:
The second book elevates the story in that the characters are dealing with the fallout from the events in the first book. They’re struggling with identity while trying to fend off greater and more terrible villains than before.

What genre are your books?:
YA Fantasy.

What draws you to this genre?:
Young Adult is having such a great moment right now. There are so many female protagonists that are varied and different, and the characters are dealing with authentic problems. I love it! I’ve also always been drawn to fantasy worlds because there’s no doubt in my mind that there’s a little bit of magic in every world.

Do you have to do research for your books?:
Absolutely. I had to research the different powers that my characters might have. I watched a lot of fire, too. I studied fights in films and documentaries.

When did you decide to become a writer?:
I wrote my first poem in second grade and haven’t looked back.

Do you aim for a set amount of words/pages per day?:
Sometimes, when I’m feeling methodical, I’ll write down word counts in my planner. I’ll tell myself that I’ll write 10,000 words that week, but in reality, I’m more concerned with the fact that I sit down and write every single day. If I’m carving out time to write, the words come. They may not be the best words the first time around, but I can work with them later.

Do you work on an outline or plot before you start writing?:
Yes, I outline before I start writing. I want to make sure that the characters have journeys to go on and things to do. I don’t want to tell a story about people thinking for a long time. I want to know that they have a purpose.

What is the hardest thing about writing?:
You know, there are many difficult parts to writing, but I also feel like those things make writing great. For example, revising is hard, but it’s also incredibly rewarding. Promotion can be challenging, but it’s a great way to connect with other readers and writers. It’s all part of the love of writing for me.

What is the easiest thing about writing?:
The easiest thing about writing is when you sit down to write a scene that has been on your mind for a long time. When a scene comes out exactly the way you envisioned it, that’s a great moment.

How long on average does it take you to write a book?:
It depends on the project, but usually 3-4 months from conception to revision.

Do you edit your book right after you finish or let it sit for awhile?:
Again, it depends. Ideally, I like to let it sit for a day or so, but sometimes that’s not possible. Also, I start with revising the first part of the book, and that’s usually been sitting for awhile, anyway.

Who edited your book and how did you select him/her?:
The amazing Ashley Heaton edited my first book. My publisher assigned her to me, but she is absolutely phenomenal. I was terrified of editors because of what I had heard from other writers, but she made my book so much better. I can only hope I get to work with her again.

How are you publishing this book and why?:
My book was published through Black Hill Press. They publish novellas, and I loved the concept of telling a really concise young adult novella. I’m a huge fan of word economy and making each word work for its place on the page, so they were a great fit for me.

How do you market your books?:
I try to be very active on Twitter and Goodreads. I reach out to bloggers that I admire. I’m also doing some podcasts and a mini-documentary on my book in the near future. Finally, I’m doing a blog tour in November. It’s all very exciting!

What do you do to get book reviews?:

I think it’s important to build relationships within the community and use that to begin asking for reviews. I like to post about blogs I like and make sure to link to reviews that are posted. Writers who constantly post on their Twitter and Goodreads feeds with review requests can turn people off.

What advice would you give to aspiring writers?:
Realize that writing cannot just be a hobby for you. If you want to do this professionally, you have to write every single day. You must read. You must be willing to put yourself and your work out there. You have to be able to take notes on your work and still love it the next day. If you have a passion for writing and you take it seriously, then you can do well.

Website: http://www.veronicabane.com

Blog: http://www.veronicabane.com

Twitter: veronicabane

Amazon Author Page: http://amzn.com/e/B00DVNIOP6

Book Links: http://amzn.com/0615846130

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18108680-mara

I would like to thank Veronica for her time in completing the interview. Stay tuned for my review of Mara coming in the near future.

One thought on “Author Spotlight: Veronica Bane

  1. Pingback: Book Review : Mara | mroziuk 1

Leave a Reply

