Author Spotlight: Kateryna Kei

Bio: I am a passionate reader, a restless traveller and a dreamer who can’t leave without sweet black tea and chocolate.
I love walking on the beach at sunset, swimming in the sea under the summer rain, Irish dancing, challenges and obviously writing stories.

What all have you written? Include everything:
Raven Boy, book 1 of a Y/A action & adventure fantasy saga
Facebook pour les musiciens, a guide to Facebook for musicians, in French
My own poetry
Poetic translation from Russian to French of Alexander – R’s poetry published as a book Pas Un Concert

Where can we buy or see them?:
on Amazon; the last one, Alexander – R’s book of poetry, is also available as a print edition through his web-site http://www.alexander-r.com

Tell us a little bit about your main character:
My main character is a boy. He is good-natured and curious, courageous and boyishly reckless. He dreams of becoming a Viking and a hero. He has a connection with a raven bird, who is his loyal friend. Apart from that, he is loving and kind, and although sometimes stubborn, he can be exceptionally wise… then, his actions speak about him so much better 😉

What are you working on at the minute?:
Two things: the French version of Raven Boy and the sequel to it, Anna, in English.

What is it about?:
It’s hard to tell without providing a spoiler to any of the books 😉 I guess, the only possible answer would be that it is about what happened next to the characters. However, as this answer is far from being intriguing or informative, I invite you to go to my website (www.katerynakei.com/writer/writer.html) and read the free chapters from both books.

What genre are your books?:
Raven Boy is a YA action adventure fantasy with some elements of romance.

What draws you to this genre?:
When I write, I never think of what genre the book is going to be, nor do I think of who is my targeted audience. I write as the story goes and as I love it. The best thing about it is when the characters sort of spring into life and start doing things that amaze the author him/herself 😉
As for the genre, I’m struggling to figure it out once the book is done 😉

Do you have to do research for your books?:
Yes and I love it. I am learning a lot of things through the books that I write, and so far, I believe it to be the most pleasant if not the best way of learning.

When did you decide to become a writer?:
I didn’t. Even though I’ve always loved reading, as a child I believed the profession of writer very dull and old-fashioned. I have never considered becoming something like that. But I was good in inventing stories and I liked some of them so much that I simply needed to write them down. Until, at some point, I figured that as far as it’s already written, it would be cool to publish it…

Do you aim for a set amount of words/pages per day?:
No. I tried, but it seems to be an impossible task for me. First, because I cannot force myself into doing it, it has to come by itself. And second, because when I start writing, I do not count my words and thus I cannot stop at a certain amount – it flows until I feel like stopping. And that’s what makes it so magical and fascinating.

Do you work on an outline or plot before you start writing?:
Sometimes. But mostly it all starts with a situation that makes a lot of unexpected twists and turns as it evolves into a plot.

What is the hardest thing about writing?:
To gather the courage to show it or to talk about it to someone.

What is the easiest thing about writing?:
It can be done anywhere and at any time.

How long on average does it take you to write a book?:
From one week to years.

Do you edit your book right after you finish or let it sit for awhile?:
It depends on the situation; I am a lazy person so I do things only when need arises.

Who edited your book and how did you select him/her?:
I self-edited my book this time.

How are you publishing this book and why?:
I self-published it for the same reason as many other authors: after several vain intents to get the attention of a traditional publisher, I figured if I wanted things done, I had to do them myself. And I do not regret it – apart from the total control over the process, it gives a pleasant sense of accomplishment and a definite possibility of self-growth.

How do you market your books?:
Through free promotions, social media and my web-site, through other book sites and communities, and through blogs. I think I am at the beginning of the process, because I have published my book recently, but the more you do it, the more possibilities you see, and it becomes fascinating in its own way.

What do you do to get book reviews?:
I ask for them.

What advice would you give to aspiring writers?:
Do not keep it all to yourself! Write it down and put it out there. It’s the only way to make it as perfect as possible.

Website: http://www.katerynakei.com/writer/writer.html

Blog: http://katerynakei.wordpress.com

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Kateryna/264344076925310

Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/Kateryna-Kei/e/B00FB94196

Book Links: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00BFKABJO
https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00BFKABJO

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/12105618-kateryna-kei

I would like to thank Kateryna for her time in completing the interview.

Leave a Reply

