Author Spotlight: Samuel Tucker Young

Derek Agons Slays A Dragon

What all have you written? Include everything:
– A couple screen plays, none sold though. Also, I have written a lot of music under the moniker Timberwolf. Last but not least, I have written the Young Adult Fantasy, Derek Agons Slays A Dragon.

Where can we buy or see them?:
– The book is available to purchase in paperback form on the official website (www.officialderekagons.com) or Amazon.com. The Timberwolf album is streaming on Spotify, iTunes and Pandora.

Tell us a little bit about your main character:
– Derek is essentially me, as a kid in high school. He is obsessed with videogames, apathetic towards any school class that isn’t drama and more interested in the sky than the world around him. He’s spent most of his time arguing with his siblings and staying out of trouble. Too bad that won’t last for long with what I have in store for him!

What are you working on at the minute?:
– Writing the second book in the series, along with recording a new album.

What is it about?:
– The second book is a continuation of the series, which I definitely can’t divulge too much info on. Heck, even the title of it is a bit of a spoiler.

What genre are your books?:
Primarily Fantasy, though usually Young Adult Fantasy.

What draws you to this genre?:
Fantasy in every aspect absolutely fascinates me. The thought of a secret world hidden beneath our own, in any capacity, is thrilling in every way. From Harry Potter to Narnia to Pokemon, I walk around thininkg about all the little oddities of life and how they could easily be a doorway to something special. Even worlds that aren’t directly linked to our own intrigue me. Redwall, A Song of Ice and Fire, The Wheel of Time . . these series keep me coming back for more because of the immense amount of imagination it takes to build them. I feed on those worlds and the creative juices it took to imagine them.

Do you have to do research for your books?:
Absolutely. From names, to myths, to places and news stories, I love to keep my stories grounded in reality regardless of how fantastical they may become. I have a habit of taking everything around me, everything that I know to be finite and true, and twisting it and turning it into something magical. Researching actual facts about the world we live in just fuels my creativity.

When did you decide to become a writer?:
When I was in high school, I noticed early on how much effort it took just to pull a C+ average in Math, whereas I slept my way through English and still pulled A’s. It was then I had the thought that I should probably be a writer of some sort . .

Do you aim for a set amount of words/pages per day?:
Not at all. I just sit and write. Some days, barely a sentence comes out that I actually use. Others, three pages plop out that I never change in the slightest.

Do you work on an outline or plot before you start writing?:
Yes, always. If I’m writing, I know where I’m going. I may not know every single step along the way, but the path is set.

What is the hardest thing about writing?:
Actually writing. Sitting down, opening up the laptop and staying diligent, no matter how much of a trudge it can be, is both excruciating and exhilarating.

What is the easiest thing about writing?:
. . Actually writing. I know, it seems silly, but the truth is when I’m in the zone, I find that 4 hours just went by and I’ve been writing the entire time. This is the exhilarating part. Writing and knowing that the words are fluid is so easy and carefree. I get lost in it.

How long on average does it take you to write a book?:
Depends on how long it takes for a full outline to surface. This particular one took about 4 years, but the majority of it was written in spurts. Now that I know exactly in which direction I’m taking the series, it’ll hopefully be a year or two in-between books.

How are you publishing this book and why?:
I am self publishing the novel through Amazon and createspace. I love the artistic and creative control both outlets give you.

How do you market your books?:
Ah, the hustle. It’s emails, emails, emails, talking, talking, talking. I’ve made business cards with the book cover on one side so that I can hand someone something physical every time they seem interested.

What do you do to get book reviews?:
Same thing. Marketing and reviews go hand in hand.

What advice would you give to aspiring writers?:
Write, create and never stop dreaming. Set your goals for the most unrealistic heights, the biggest dreams, and then don’t stop until you achieve it. No matter how hard or dark the road ahead is, there is and always will be a reward if you work your butt off. I firmly believe it. So seriously . . write, create and never stop dreaming.

Website: http://www.officialderekagons.com

Facebook: facebook.com/officialderekagons

Twitter: twitter.com/heistimberwolf

Book Links: http://www.amazon.com/Derek-Agons-Dragon-Samuel-Tucker/dp/0615868584/ref=sr_1_1_title_0_main?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1392868804&sr=1-1&keywords=derek+agons+slays+a+dragon

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/20873485-derek-agons-slays-a-dragon

Stay tuned for my review of Derek Agons Slays A Dragon in the future.

Leave a Reply

