Author Spotlight: Nikki Rae

Bio: Nikki Rae is a student and writer who lives in New Jersey. She is an independent author and has appeared numerously on Amazon Best Seller lists. She is the author of The Sunshine Series and concentrates on making her imaginary characters as real as possible. She writes mainly dark, scary, romantic tales, but she’ll try anything once. When she is not writing, reading, or thinking, you can find her spending time with animals, drawing in a quiet corner, or studying people. Closely.

What all have you written? Include everything:
The Sunshine Series:
Sunshine (Book 1)
Sun Poisoned (Book 2)
Sun Damage (Book 3)

Where can we buy or see them?:
Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and Smashwords.

Tell us a little bit about your main character:
Sophie is a girl who has been damaged a lot during her life. The books are mainly about her struggles and how she copes, grows, and the person she becomes by the end. There are paranormal elements, but the story has always focused on Sophie’s character.

What are you working on at the minute?:
A horror/suspense stand alone spin off novel, which is currently untitled.

What genre are your books?:
It’s going to have a few characters from The Sunshine Series, but you won’t have to read it in order to understand this one. It’s a lot darker, and a lot more intense than The Sunshine Series, and I’m really enjoying writing it so far. : )

What draws you to this genre?:
I like the paranormal because it hints at a different world going on alongside ours, that there are things we may not be aware of, and I also like monsters. They’re often perfect metaphors for humans.

Do you have to do research for your books?:
I do research for fun, and then the research ends up in my books. For Sunshine, I wanted to know about allergies to the sun that I included. For the spin off book, animals are an important part of the story, and I already know a lot about animals because of my day job, so I had more of an excuse to research birds and cats.

When did you decide to become a writer?:
I don’t think I ever just “decided” to become a writer. I always wrote, but I decided to become an “author” when I sought out publishing and trying to get my work into other peoples’ hands, which was around my first year of college, over five years ago.

Do you aim for a set amount of words/pages per day?:
Yes. I always try to write 500-2000 words a day.

Do you work on an outline or plot before you start writing?:
I usually don’t outline until after I have my first rough draft, and even then, there isn’t much to the outline, just some notes and important scenes I want to include/change.

What is the hardest thing about writing?:
Being alone. I usually like being alone and being in my head while I write, but sometimes it gets hard, especially when people ask me what I did all day or why I have that far off look on my face.

What is the easiest thing about writing?:
Creating. I like that there’s endless possibilities when you make up people and those peoples’ lives. They can grow or stay the same, they can make it through a situation or give up, etc. Once I have my characters laid out, I like how they take control of the story and how I can watch it unfold.

How long on average does it take you to write a book?:
About six to eight months.

Do you edit your book right after you finish or let it sit for awhile?:
I let it sit for at least a month, that way when I go back to edit, I can look at it without being so attached to everything.

Who edited your book and how did you select him/her?:
My good friend Amanda edited Sun Damage and I chose her because we met in Creative Writing, I experienced how good she was at editing, and she liked my work, so it was a no-brainer choosing her.

How are you publishing this book and why?:
I self publish because I like the control I have over everything: the promotional aspect, the cover, the blurb, all of it. There’s no one telling me what to do besides me.

How do you market your books?:
Any way I can. I do author takeovers, I send out review requests to bloggers, I ask other indie authors to help me out, hosting giveaways or contests…anything that works. I’m always open to new things.

What do you do to get book reviews?:
I look up bloggers that I like and ask them. It seems simple, and it kind of is.

What advice would you give to aspiring writers?:
Do it. If you want to write you need to write. It’s not always easy, but if you keep going, you’ll end up in amazing places you never thought you would. : )

Website: nikkixrae.blogspot.com

Blog: ^^SAME^^

Facebook:
The Sunshine Series: https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Sunshine-Series/125028937642434?ref=hl
Nikki Rae: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Nikki-Rae/394844663902407?ref=hl

Twitter: @NikkiRaexX

Tumblr: Nikkixrae.tumblr.com

Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/Nikki-Rae/e/B00B8YR0Y6/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

Smashwords: http://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/NikkiRae

Book Links: http://www.amazon.com/Sunshine-The-Series-Nikki-Rae-ebook/dp/B00B6T24H6/ref=sr_1_fkmr0_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1395853375&sr=8-1-fkmr0&keywords=sunshine+nikki+rae
http://www.amazon.com/Sun-Poisoned-The-Sunshine-Series-ebook/dp/B00DOOCY8A/ref=pd_sim_kstore_1?ie=UTF8&refRID=1XSZCN9ZXM5P792XJEAD

Goodreads:https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6751095.Nikki_Rae

Stay tuned for my review of Sun Damage (the third novel, releasing March 28) in the near future! 

Leave a Reply

